Custom Dies

MontanaRifleman

I thought I would raise this topic to get some opinions on it. And I am no expert on the subject but will share what I have learned.

On another forum, someone recommended that I consder getting custom dies and bullet seater for best accuracy.

I called the die maker in PA that he recommended and talked with this guy and plan to get custom dies for my rifles.

Here are some of the benefits...

A custum die will form your brass basically to the shape of your particular chamber and align it concentrically with your throat and bore. This will allign your bullet a little better and more consistantly than standard dies resulting in a little better accuracy.

With custom dies, your resizing process will alwyas be the same...FL sizing. A lot of guys like to neck size only so they get fired formed cases that fit the chamber. But, with neck sizing only, you still have to occasionally FL size because the cases eventually get too tight for the chamber. So, you end up with a different size case and capacity after FL sizing. If you FL size with standard sized dies all the time you will end up with a *loose* fitting case in your chamber as I believe that most standard dies will form to just slightly less than SAAMI specs and most production chambers are probably bored to slightly greater than SAAMI specs.

An additional benefit is that custom sized brass does not get stressed as much in the sizing process and has a much longer reloading life. If my memory serves me well...I believe he said I could expect over 30 cycles with good brass. That in itself would go a long way in getting back the cost of custom dies especially if you use an expensive proprietory type brass like Dakota. A sizing die and bullet seater would run me about $350.