Coyote 243 Bullet Choice

aglass1987

Im new to coyote hunting, but I been varmint hunting for several years now. The longest kill on a groundhog was right under 400 yards. The places i got to coyote hunt this year offer shots a little over 600 yards. I bought a remington sps varmint in 243. I replaced the factory stock with a HS Prescision Varmint stock and got the trigger adjust down to 2 pounds which is very crisp and does indeed break like glass. I have it topped with a bushnell banner 6-24 and leupold rings. I was wondering what bullet choice would be good for coyotes at longer ranges. Im a big fan of sierra blitzkings and would like to give the Nosler BTs a try. I was thinking of using the 70grs in either one. But i would like to hear opinions on my set up and bullet choice. Im open for all opinions on bullet choice. Do coyote hunters prefer velocity on just energy because I hear alot of coyote hunters use the higher weight bullets with slower velocities. The reason i thought about the 70grs in because my velocity would be around 3400fps. Any ideas or opinions is appreciated.

There're a lot of good intermediate polymer-tipped bullet choices (500-600 yds.) for that setup, but the 87 V-Max is a standout with a BC of ~.4. That is the bullet i have tried to get to shoot out of 2 24's, but so far haven't had any luck. This is a 6 AI and has made several 1-shot kills between 4-500 yds. using the 87 Hornady BTHP--
img002.jpg

The 70 grn load at 3400' / sec. should have a similar trajectory as my 22-250 thats shooting 55 grn Bergers at 3750' / sec. You would have the wind advantage however, probably 8-10 inches less drift at 500 yds (10mph wind).