Cosine gages

Paul Wyatt

I'm relatively new to this game, but have been reading posts daily for a month or so and have a question. There have been quite a few discussions about useing cosine indicators; the consensus being that the gages are good, but they lack sufficient detail in reading the cosine to be depended on for long range shots (extrapolation is necessary). If I am reading posts correctly, most shooters are using a PDA with a ballistics program to get corrected come ups/downs, and that the cost of the cosine gages is somewhere in the neighborhood of 90 - 100 dollars.
My question is why not go with a digital incline instrument that reads the angle to the nearest .1 degree for $100 (http://store.yahoo.com/ascscientific/smardigclin.html). A PDA is being used anyway and the cosine of the angle could easily be fugured using it.
Give me some help before I do my typical thing and spend $100 only to find that what I did was bass-ackwards.
Brassbender

Brass Bender
Most PDA programs that I have seen and used only require the known angle not the cos.(program knows the cos)
Anyway you find the angle will work!
after you know the angle plug it into the program.
I think most of the debat is that "the cos X the known distance" WILL NOT WORK AT LONG DISTANCE
You need to field verify your comeups with the program to know if the info is right for you or adjust the bullet BC to get the program to match your actual drop.
CAM

Brass Bender,
Your link to these digital incline/angle insruments didn't go through. Tell me more about them please, I have not seen them. Where do I get one and how do they work? Also, do you have to attach them to the gun?
Thanks for your reply in advance! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif --goodgrouper

Goodgrouper;
The instrument is an ASC scientific model and can be found on their site. Here's what their post has to say about the device: