Concentricity & Runout Correction

Ok, Long time Competitive Smallbore shooter, but I'm fairly new to Mid Range, Long Range, and Palma Competition as far as the reloading aspect of the game goes and only been reloading now for about a year for my .308 and those tournaments. I'm trying to pull out all the stops on precision and turning out consistant rounds. I do everything by hand , no case prep centers with power tools or anything. I know it takes longer but I enjoy the process. This season I've taken my process now into considering concentricity. I'm using the Sinclair Conc. Gauge, and I realized that some of the others had an advertised correction feature, but still went with the Sinclair. What I'm wondering is if anyone out there not using one with the feature to tip the bullet slightly, how do you attempt the slight correction, or do you attempt it at all, and if it's too far out of your acceptable range does that round just become a fouler or sighter ? I've been able to with a little slight pressure between my thumb and forefinger make a slight adjustment to the bullet if needed, and I can on average get my runout down to .001 or there abouts. My other concern is how much does anyone feel this alters neck tension adversely ?

C.D. gun)

I think it's a bad idea to try to press the bullet back onto a perfect zero runout number. This would have the tendency to loosen the bullet in the case neck, reducing neck tension.

The runout correction tools assume a lot... assume being the operative word. They assume that the runout is caused by the bullet just needing a slight shift inside the case neck. They assume you can do this with with a little push to high side of the bullet...

...but in reality, you're probably just bending the case neck to make things look good. Or the case shoulder area. You could even be deforming the bullet, to some extent.

Runout under .005" never really seems to make a lot of difference.