Comparative locations of ogive concerning COAL

Tiny Tim

I am reloading for a Ruger m77 IN 7mm RM with both Berger 168 gr VLD and Standard 160gr Nosler AB. I have been reloading for 25+ years. Since my rifle has so much free bore, I've been limited by magazine length. In the process of trying to shoot more accurately, I'm trying to determine my COAL so bullets are just touching the lands. After determining this length for each bullet I found them to be only .020" different (Berger being longer). Then when measuring from the base of the case to the ogive of the bullets, I found this dimension to be approx .090" longer on the AB. I would have assumed that this dimension (cartridge base to ogive) would have been very similar for ANY bullet and the COAL to the tip varying widely as determined by bullet profile. Is this an optical illusion making the Berger appear as if it would have a significantly longer COAL due to its profile? Is my reasoning wrong? Did I miss something? Sorry this post is so long. Any help understanding this would be greatly appreciated

Since my rifle has so much free bore, I've been limited by magazine length.
Not true,, makes no sense.
In the process of trying to shoot more accurately, I'm trying to determine my COAL so bullets are just touching the lands.
Again, no reason to believe this and makes no sense at all.

You should focus on testing for most accurate bullet & seating depth, whatever that turns out to be. And then log CBTO with that best bullet & seating so that you will reproduce it for the life of the barrel.