CLEANING AFTER SHOOTING??????

hillrod

Any thoughts on what to use to claen the barrel and how often to clean and which technique works best. I am new to this and just shot yesterday for the first time at 500 yards and was hitting clay pigeons and now I think I am hooked on this long range shooting and may have to step back to 1000 yards in a bit. Also any ideas on a good spotting scope? any ideas are appreciated.
Thanks,
tongue.gif

Rod, I clean about every 30 shots or so when at the range, but you don't have to clean it that much if your rifle shoots well with a less then clean barrel, thats something you might want to experiment with to see how your groups grow as the bore gets dirtier. While at the range I run a 1 wet patch, adding a little more down the barrel of Sweets 7.62 and let sit about 10 min. then 2 clean ones, followed by a wet patch of Kroil and 2 clean patches before I start shooting again. Once I get home I use 2 wet patches of Sweets and let each application sit about 15 min. and then scrub the bore with a brass wire brush before removing the second application of Sweets, which seems to help the Sweets along a bit, and then a wet patch of Kroil followed by a couple dry patches which really cleans any residue left by the Sweets, the solvents with ammonia seem to do the best job of copper removing but don't allow to sit in your Stainless barrels for more then 20 min. You can also try running a wet patch of 'Shooters Choice' Firarms Bore Cleaner before starting with the Sweets which is good for removing powder residue.
wink.gif
Jay

Rod, I clean, a little more often than the previous poster.
My Sako just wont shoot well after 20 rounds or so...but, like he said, maybe yours is differant.
I like Montana X-treme,first, using a nylon brush to get the fouling out, and then the Sweet's to get the copper out, as Jay mentioned.
Everybody is differant...good shooting by the way...sakofan..
wink.gif