chrony beta

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by midwesthunter, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. midwesthunter

    midwesthunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    846
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    I recently bought one of these models. I always used a buddies before when load developing. I was shooting some factory ammo through a 223 with 22" barrel. It was hornady 40 grain vmaz custom. Box claims 3800 fps from 24" barrel. Conditions were cloudy with the ocasional peak of sunshine. The five shots I shot through the chrony left me with a extream spread of 198 fps. fastes round was 3650+ slowest was 3452 fps? I also noticed that the fastest recorded round was the first shot then it got slower? Could this be the chrony or the ammo? I will be doing some load development this weekend so I will be checking to see how it varies with some hand loads. I'm just not all that familiar with chrony's?
     
  2. Whopper Stopper

    Whopper Stopper Active Member

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Unless your reloading skills are really skewed, I put money on the Chrony being psycho. The three that I owned over the years often had me pulling my hair out. I just started getting by without.

    WS
     

  3. model70rum

    model70rum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    264
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    I had the same chrony as you. I shot my 300 win mag with 210 grain bergers and it read 3050-3075. I thought that was a little high. My drops confirmed that I was right at 2900 fps. I bought a new CED M2 chronograph and it was right on the money at 2900 fps. My chrony beta now sits in a box in the garage.
     
  4. Sully2

    Sully2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,480
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    He was shooting FACTORY AMMO.....geeze????
     
  5. Sully2

    Sully2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,480
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Anything...and I do mean anything and everything will affect the readout. Sunshine...no sunshine...clouds...no clouds...etc. Bext you can do is find a "perfect" ( weatherwise) day and shoot them over and call it good.

    Ive got a Chrony...same sort of "problems. I just use it as another gauge is all
     
  6. liltank

    liltank Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,158
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    I've found using a white top easy up over the Chrony will give more consistent read outs.
     
  7. Sully2

    Sully2 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,480
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Hmmm?? I'll have to try that one!!
     
  8. ToKeepAndBear

    ToKeepAndBear Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    I borrowed a buddy's and had the same issues with large ES and obviously erroneous readings with certain lighting conditions. Bought an Oehler 35p and problems went away. Now when working up loads have single digit ES numbers with good loads. It also has three screens to give secondary confirmation of any questionable results. I have not encountered any wacky readings yet in similar circumstances that would throw Chrony for a loop.