Changing scopes on a flattop question

Discussion in 'The Basics, Starting Out' started by kelly mt, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. kelly mt

    kelly mt Member

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    I'd like to change between a high power varmint scope to a Barska Electro Sight. I have a AR 15 flattop. How big of a change will this have on zero if both sights have been zeroed on this rifle?
     
  2. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Supposedly, the best and most precise removable mounts can achieve 1/4 to 1/2 MOA repeatability, when a torque wrench is used.? I cant say from experience though, I haven't tried them myself.
     

  3. Greyfox

    Greyfox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,708
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    I switch between an ACOG-3x, 3x9 Mk4, and my stock, open sight handle on my Colt HBar. All have the same height from the bore, about 3.5". I left the stock mil spec front sight on with no distortion issues. Impact is within .75" at 100 yards with all three sights using a 40"/# of torque. This is with 55gr. factory Remington Accutips , and 62 gr. Green Tips 556 . It might be better, but this is the typical accuracy of this rifle.
     
  4. kelly mt

    kelly mt Member

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Thanks for the reply. The torque thing makes sense. I live in heavy timber so a shot at a coyote or wolf in on the livestock is quick and close. The Barska is perfect for this. When I go east to the open country the big scope is the thing to use. PK
     
  5. Bravo 4

    Bravo 4 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,990
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    We remove our scopes after every major training event to clean and if mounted properly I haven't seen more than a 1 MOA shift in POI.