Case Preperation Q;

skip AI

Gday, I was just wondering how you prepare your cases before reloading and if proper case preperation can leed to improved accuracy?
I usually chuck my cases in the my tumbler then I Neck size them which also deprimes them then I hit them with my Lee case trimmer (hand one) and then run my Redding Deburing tool on the inside and out, then I prime them ect ect.
Should I be turning them in one of those little lathe trimming things so it is cut and debured squarer with the case?
Is there anything else I should be doing? am I doing anything wrong?

TIA, cheers

i am a rookie at this but here is what i do:
resize them and pop the primer out. take my primer cleaner thingy and clean out where the primer was. soak them in rubbing alcohol for about 15 mins. rinse tourhly place in oven and let them dry. i then take them out, hand dry them and wipe em clean. re-prime them and load em up!this has worked well for me as the primary gun i reload for ( my 270wsm) produces sub 1/2 inch groups with this method!
Casey

Skip,
My cases get a full benchrest prep even though they might not be going into a custom chamber.
That way i know that i have crafted the finest cartridges that my ability will allow, this inturn gives me the upmost confidence in my ammunition.

You are not doing anything wrong, but if you want ultimate accuracy full prep is the way to go.
Some will tell you it is not neccessary for a hunting rifle, i disagree, consistant accurate ammo will always be the best ammo.

I dont go to the extremes of measuring case capacity with water but i do segregate cases by weight.
All cases are then fired once before prepping.

Primer pockets are then cleaned and uniformed, flash holes are both uniformed and deburred (even though i am using Lapua Brass),cases are then necked down and expanded back up to fit trimmer and turning mandrels, then trimmed and neck-turned.

Standard de-burr on the outside of the neck and a VLD de-burr on the inside.