can i zero my millet turrets?

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by Wheatgerm, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. Wheatgerm

    Wheatgerm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    176
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    I've got a millet scope 4-16x50 I've got it zeroed and been playing with the turrets over the last year. Im running into minor problems remembering to bring it back to zero after I shoot. I've loosened the turrets and tried spinning it all the way back so my true zero is easily just turning it back until my turret seats on the scope. But I can't figure out to get my scope to do this. Any help would be great thanks! Hopefully this makes sense
     
  2. luke

    luke Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    192
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Does your scope have the turret locks underneath the turret. I have to loosen the allen screw on top then loosen the turret lock before I can rezero my turret.
     

  3. Wheatgerm

    Wheatgerm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    176
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    I can zero the turret by loosening the top screw and adjusting the turret. But what im trying to do is set the turret so I can't accidentally go below my true zero. In ofther words if I adjust for 1000yangle or roughly 19MOA (more than a full revolution) I can easily just turn the turret back until it stops. Sometimes when im done shooting I forget to set the turret back to zero. Then a few weeks later I get the gun out and have to remember if I have to go back more than a full revolution or just return it back to the first zero.
     
  4. luke

    luke Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    192
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    I must have misunderstood. I dont know of any way to put a zero stop on them. Nice thing about the vortex hs they come with zero stop. I hardly use the rifle my millet is on anymore because of the same problem you are having.
     
  5. Wheatgerm

    Wheatgerm Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    176
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Its not the scopes fault at all but a zero stop would be pretty nice to have. The last thing on my mind when I get done shooting is to get it set back to zero. As far as tracking and everything else the scope has done pretty nice from what I can tell. Thanks anyways for the help
     
  6. Joe King

    Joe King Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,390
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    I just made it a habit to return to Zero, any time I change ranges or before I stand up when I'm done. Not sure what else you can do but just learn to be methodical about that. When I return to zero I turn it past zero nearly a full turn then go up to zero, makes me feel better about taking whatever slack/backlash there is out of it from the start.
     
  7. Shane G.

    Shane G. Active Member

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    I have the 6x25x56LRS, it has verticle reference marks under the elevation turret once zero'd take your cell phone and snap a picture of the turret so you can see the lines. Before you go out to shoot it would only take a second to verify you returned it to zero or not.