calipers, which one?

Sleepy Time

Have some Frankfort arsenal calipers and having trouble with them holding zero. Looking for suggestions for a new one. What are y'all using?

Thanks!

I've always used Starrett. I have used a model 120A-6 for about the last 20 years.

Last edited:
I find with the digital ones, no matter what name is on them, they all come from the same place. I use westward digital calipers but I have seen many other brands that are EXACTLY the same all at different price points, from $150-$20

I've been using a pair of 4" Mitutoyo dial calipers since March 1970. The zero has been reset about a dozen times at most. Takes about a minute and a half to do this. I also have two or three pairs of Starretts and at least one Brown & Sharpe, and who knows what else (think I have eight pairs). I do not like the Starrett dial calipers because of the crap you have to go thru to reset the zero. Accuracey wise they all seem to be about the same. They all are .001" measuring devices no matter what the resolution is. One nice thing about the Starrett digital calipers is that you can slide the battery cover about 3/8ths of an inch thus disconnecting the battery and making it last a lot longer. B&S maybe that way as well. All my Fowlers were different, and you had to completely remove the cover. I wish somebody would sell a pair like the bigger Fowlers and B&S that had pins on the top side for making measurments in I.D.s on small holes. The blades are not accurate
gary

+1 on the mitutoyo. I use them at work for measuring clearances on precision bearings as well as at my reloading bench. I find that the 6" ones seems to give the easiest use for me. I do have a caliobration block that I used to use to check it with but quit doing it as it never seemed to be out in the 3 years or so that I was checking it.