Cajun in Alaska

goatsoldier69

hello all,
My name is Goat, i am from the bayous south of New Orleans La. I am active duty army and on my dream assignment. I will be in Fairbanks AK for 3 Yrs. It beautiful here. I will be posting alot of questions to the members that have hunted or live in AK. gun)any hints or advice will be greatly appreciated, guns i have Savage 270, 300wm, 45acp, and multiple shotguns,

thanks, any sugestion i am planningon moding out my 300 win mag, with choate stock and muzzle break, just don't know the scope to put on it that would get me the best use. I have a nikon bdc prostaff on my 270 would that be a good choice for my 300 also. also any other suggestions for a stock would be greatly appreciated. I still want to stay a hunting rifle.

I have 2 choate stocks and I love them. They are very solid and accurate for the price but be prepared they do add some weight. As far as the scope I have no experience with nikon but I am a huge fan of vortex scopes. I would recommend going with the viper line or above. I learned from experience and broke 2 crossfires on my 300 win mag before they got tired of fixing it and traded me up in scopes free of charge. They are terrific to work with. Thats my 2 cent anyway.

Jason

jrw1976, thanks for the info, i just dropped off my rifle to get a muzzle ported, so with the choate stock would makeit much heavier to carry in the field, i may just hold off on it until i get back to louisiana cause i prob won't shoot it down in the bayou unless i want to split the deer in half. LOL. Thanks again for the info.

The 2 guns I have with choate stocks are a little heavy, but not bad with one of Lens double shoulder slings that he sells on this site. Mine weights 14# and my sons is 16#. He carried mine for 30 miles all together over the period of a week hunting season last year with no complaints. I guess what Im saying is dont be affraid of a little weight it will really help with steadiness when that long shot does come.