building my first long range rifle

model70fan

Ive decided to build myself a long range rifle out of an old pre64 model 70 I have in 264 win mag. Ive decided on chambering the gun in 7mm rem mag. What I wanting to know is whos barrel I should use and the best twist for long range accuracy. This is my first attempt at building a gun for shooting long ranges (out to 1000) so any advice would be great.

7 mag is not really a good case to start with. It doesn't hold enough powder for long barrels and the slowest powders. You are better off with something like a 7STW or even a 7 ultra mag. The 7 mag will be blowing the primers out and still be a couple hundred FPS behind it's bigger brothers.

Why not stay with the .264 Win Mag.? My buddy has an improved (fire formed case to hold more powder). The very first time he shot 1,000 yd. bench rest he came in second place with a 6" group shooting 140 gr. Bergers I think. Hadn't even worked up an accuracy load yet. A very flat shooting and accurate rifle.

joseph

Don't be easily fooled. The 7Rem Mag will do ya just fine. There sure seems to be a push to the RUM and STW. The 7mag has been shooting 1000 yards just fine since the time of its birth. I would recommend a little longer barrel. Something in the neighborhood of 27-28 inches will fit the bill nicely. You will be running the 168 grain Bergers to over 3000 FPS and have ample energy for even Elk to 1000 yards if you care to. There is a reason that these long range turnkey systems are chambering their rifles in the 7mm Rem. It is because it works. Sure the RUM and the STW will get you there faster, but it comes at quite a price too.