Building my 1st. varmint AR-15

infer

I'm new to long range shooting (since Nam), and I'm trying to decide what type of upper barrel assembly to buy. I will scope the rifle, so open sights are optional, but I want to use the AR-15 as a personal protection weapon, as well.

My options are a 24" or 20" barrel. Will the 24" barrel give me enough extra accuracy to overcome the lack of maneuverability of a shorter barrel?

Also, I'm deciding on a stainless steel, bull, or normal chrome-lined barrel. What are the advantages of Stainless?

Another option is twist rates, as I noticed a difference between 1/7", 1/9" or 1/12" twist rates. Does the length on the barrel determine the best twist rate?

I have a budget, so I'd like to keep the cost of the upper assembly under $900.

Thanx for your help, Dante':)

I'm new to long range shooting (since Nam), and I'm trying to decide what type of upper barrel assembly to buy. I will scope the rifle, so open sights are optional, but I want to use the AR-15 as a personal protection weapon, as well.

My options are a 24" or 20" barrel. Will the 24" barrel give me enough extra accuracy to overcome the lack of maneuverability of a shorter barrel?

Also, I'm deciding on a stainless steel, bull, or normal chrome-lined barrel. What are the advantages of Stainless?

Another option is twist rates, as I noticed a difference between 1/7", 1/9" or 1/12" twist rates. Does the length on the barrel determine the best twist rate?

I have a budget, so I'd like to keep the cost of the upper assembly under $900.

Thanx for your help, Dante':)

What range do you want to shoot at? 1-7 of 1-8 would be my pics. I would not do a barrel over 18" for anything you may want to use in a dual role like HUNTING/HOME DEFENCE.

Keep it light lots of great companes have uppers that will fit your requirments. You did not mention a caliber? 5.56,223,6.8,30 AR, are your main factory contenders for use with the AR15 lower.