Building a custom Rem 700????

treeslayer

I picked up a rem 700 dirt cheap. Would like to turn it into a long range elk gun. It is currently chambered in 30-06. The gun has some rusting on it so it needs some tlc anyway. Would love to have a 338 Lapua but that may be a little much for a 700? And shooting the lapuas are hard on the bank acount. What would be the top long range cartridges for this size action? What are your favorites and why? I'm new to long range shooting so just trying to get a feel for what is available before jumping into a build.

Thanks

I picked up a rem 700 dirt cheap. Would like to turn it into a long range elk gun. It is currently chambered in 30-06. The gun has some rusting on it so it needs some tlc anyway. Would love to have a 338 Lapua but that may be a little much for a 700? And shooting the lapuas are hard on the bank acount. What would be the top long range cartridges for this size action? What are your favorites and why? I'm new to long range shooting so just trying to get a feel for what is available before jumping into a build.

Thanks

I recomend any of the magnum bolt face cartridges. 338 Win Mag,340 Weatherby, 338 RUM. Etc.

The Lapua is a great round but the case head is to large for the Remington without some drastic
changes.

The 338 RUM will fit with the bolt face opened up, an a extractor installation.

Or simply buy a PT&G bolt with a magnum bolt face and an M16 style extractor. (Its not that
much more expensive by the time you have the Smithing done) to make the 30/06 bolt work.

The 338 Rum has slightly more case capacity than the Lapua and can match or beat it with the
same pressures.

There are other cartriges that are bigger but realy need a custom action or a Weatherby Mark 5
and both are expensive.

J E CUSTOM

Like J E said, Go with the 338 Ultra mag, it will do anything the lapua will do.
I went with the 338 Ultra mag and it shoots like a Laser. Put a Muscle brake on it and it will be fun to shoot.
Tarey