Build My Elk Rifle

shooter7

Ok, so I'll start off with a little background. I'm currently a college student in Michigan and I'll be graduating and moving to Colorado in May. I have a job lined up in central Colorado around game management units 49, 500, 501, 37 and 50. I have spent a couple summers out there and know the area fairly well. I know I'll have the opportunity to hunt at elevations from 8-12 thousand feet. Shots will be anywhere in the range of 5- My personal limit of 600yds.

Now my questions: I will be building a rifle this summer for my future endeavors. Which caliber? Action? Barrel? Stock? Optics? What overall weight do you think I should shoot for? Very open to opinions and tips based on experience. Thanks for the input.

I'm not saying it can not be done, however, may be difficult to do. Would you consider a factory rifle, with decent optics?

My thoughts would lean toward:

Savage LRH (7mm or 300 Win Mag.)
Remington Sendero (7mm/300 Win Mag./300 RUM)
Remington 5R (300 Win Mag.)

Optics: Nightforce SHV or Vortex PST

Bases & Rings: it's a toss up, tons of options, high, medium, low, as far as price are concerned!

That or troll the classifieds for a used one. There are some nice guns floating around!

Last edited:
Another rifle that "might" work out is the new Rem 700 long range. They are available in several calibers including .300 Win Mag. Broz looked at one a bout 10 days ago and thought they could be good to go or only need a little work to get them to shoot. Just a thought. Bruce

+1 for the Savage LRH.

I just purchased a 300 WSM this week and am very impressed with what this factory gun can do thus far.

With some initial handloads, it will consistently shoot 3/4 inch groups. Working on more to see if I can get it to tighten up more.

It's hard to beat the versatility of a 300 magnum. For anything from coyotes up to moose it will work great.