Blogging My sheep hunt!

gliechty

I thought since we have this new section in the forum, I would start a thread about preparing for my upcoming Utah Rocky mountain bighorn hunt in November. It has been a lifelong dream of mine to hunt sheep, and at 36, my dream is about to become a reality.

I have been putting in for sheep for about 16 years off and on between Utah and Colorado. But because of being wishy washy, I had only accumulated 3 points for Utah. After a couple of very difficult years in my personal life, someone decided that I needed a gift of massive perportions. I drew the Range Creek Rocky tag! I started calling all of my friends, and they simply said "you drew my tag!" I keep hearing things like "I have 13 points" or "you just won the lottery!" Believe me, I know how fortunate I am to get this tag. The best part about it though, is how many people want to share the accumulated information about the unit I drew. Sheep hunters are definatly a different breed of hunter. They just want to part of the hunt, no matter if they get to pull the trigger or not. It is an addiction for sure.

I am now in the middle of how to prepare, and how to scout the unit. Looking at new gear and optics, getting in shape, and building a new rifle just for this hunt. Then there are all of the worries that go along with it like: I am getting remarried in July, and my fiance already thinks she is going to be a hunting widow. Fortunatly, she understands that this is a once in a lifetime opprotunity. My son also drew a youth only any bull elk tag that runs 10 days in the middle of November, so trying to fit his hunt into the mix is going to be fun! He was also very understanding, and stated "You have wanted this all your life, dont worry about my elk until you kill your sheep!"

I will do my best to keep updating this thread as things happen, I will give scouting reports, rifle testing reports, and just any old information that seems appropriate.