Black bear trail cam photos.......

Catahoula

Hey Guys,
Here are a few photos of a brown phase black bear. I think this is a nice bear. What do you all think?
Kirk

Attachments

• PICT0016.jpg
    PICT0016.jpg
    336.7 KB · Views: 166
  • PICT0017.jpg
    PICT0017.jpg
    338.6 KB · Views: 135
  • PICT0018.jpg
    PICT0018.jpg
    333.7 KB · Views: 171
I'm not really good at guessing bear weights. Most folks think bears are heavier than they really are. He is in pretty good shape for a spring bear. I am going to say around 250 lbs. Do you agree?
Kirk

Without some frame of reference, it's tough to guess how much he might weigh. Although I am 6'2" and 200lbs, I think he's heavier than 250 as he seems much larger than me.

He'll go over 300 I bet. A friend of mine shot one that weighed 350lbs a few years ago and that bear looks to be close to his size.

I am going to agree with IdahoCTD on the size. 300 to 350 lbs. And probably closer to 350lbs live weight. I shot a 350lb black bear this past September from 30 yards in the Olympic Mtns of Washington. This bear looks to be of similar size, it's mature and worth hunting IMHO.

Thats a heck of a nice bear! Ive seen few that are larger, but never with that color. I'd be pulling the trigger on that one for sure.

Like the others I would say somewhere between 300-350 lbs.

I am pretty good at judging weight and I would have to say between 350 and 400 lbs. Taking into account the size of his head, legs, and low stomach!

Shoot first, ask questions later. That's a bruiser!
Bear huntin is one of my passions. Im hopelessly addicted to it. I don't get the bonus if being able to use bait or dogs, cause Oregon votes with the "left coast" & the other 90% of the state doesn't count. Spot & stock Spring bear presents way too much hassle where I hunt, & its a crap shoot at best. I'm jealous :D