Big Game Scope Recommendations??

MZmoose

I'm picking up a new Win Model 70 in 300 WSM for hunting everything from Sheep to Elk. I'm new to long range hunting as I haven't taken a game animal past 300 yards and haven't used a scope with a top magnification higher than 9 power. What optics would you recommend for big game hunting out to say, 600-700 yards? Assuming I'm able to get the accuracy and confidence needed to make good hits at those ranges. Im hoping to keep the price of the scope under $1200? What are your thoughts on this setup and recommendations?

Checkout the Sightron SIII series scopes, if you do a search in this site you'll see many satisfied owners.

I think your set up is fine your intended purpose esp. if you hand load and take advantage of the heavier and high BC bullets, i.e. 180gr and up from Berger (VLDs), Nosler (AB), etc ...

Good luck!

Ed

If you are going to use a ballistic reticle which is realistic at 6-700 then take a look at the Zeiss Conquest Rapid Z scopes. Good value, I just looked at them but got a deal on another scope. Sightron is a good recommendation as is the Vortex scopes. All of these would allow you sufficient MOA and a chance to learn how to use the turrets. Also start getting familiar with one of the ballistics program on your phone, iPod, computer etc.

Yeah the Sightron SIII do look pretty good. What power range would you recommend for hunting big game? I was thinkin getting a scope with a top end of about 20 power but don't want to go higher than 6 power on the low end just in case I get a close shot.

I do handload and was planning on trying the 185 - 210gr Bergers and the 180- 200gr AB Noslers.