Best scope?

Wisconsin_Boy

Hi am am looking for some advice on what scope to put on my 7mm....I am new to long range shooting and am on a budget of $1500..also i was wondering about range finders..anything helps..thanks

I'd recommend a Nightforce NXS but it's $1630. I'd try to squeeze another $130 out of your budget if you could. If you can't, the Luepold Mark 4s are close to the same quality and a few hundred less. I have both and I am very happy with both of them.
Try looking on Samplelist.com for some good quality used scopes.

+1 on NF. You can get yourself a very nice 3.5-15x50mm with illuminated
NP-R1 recticle for $1483.

I use a Leupold 6.5-20X Varix III with target turrets, Weaver T-24s, a Leupold Mark IV 4.5-14X and a Zeiss Conquest 6.5-20X.

If you want the scope for long-range shooting, I would recommend the Zeiss, along with a 20 MOA Picatinny rail for your rifle. This would cost you less than $1K. This set-up should work for you all the way to 1200 yards.

For hunting, I would go with a Leupold 4.5-14X, again with a 20 MA Picatinny rail. I paid less than $700 at Bruno's, who has some of the lowest prices anywhere.

Good luck!

I have a NF 3.5x15 NPR2 on my .308 and love it! I'm having a .300 wsm built and thinking about another NSX but maybe in 5.5x22. The 3.5x15 will run you pretty close to 1500 by itself. Was your $1500 budget for scope and rangefinder or just scope?