best press for 338AX and other large calibers

marrandy

Hello.

I'm looking to buy a press that will handle a range of rounds from .223/5.56 all the way up to the 338ax/.50 large caliber rounds (maybe ready to reload late next year for the larger chosen rifle/round).

But I don't want to have to buy Two presses.

I don't intend to go for plinking/mass production, more accuracy matches to the rifles I have.

It has been suggested that a Rockchucker Supreme II or Redding Ultramag press would be suitable.

What are your thoughts ?

What are people here using for the larger caliber rounds for high accuracy, long range.

Thanks...Martin

Last edited:
I'm just getting into reloading, but I went with the Forster CO/AX press. From some internet research and friends the reload, it gets very high reviews.

I haven't used it yet (waiting for 338 RUM brass) but it seems pretty nice.

Sorry to say, but you need 2 presses.
Forester Coax for almost everything.
AmmoMaster 2 for the 408 Cheytac cases.

You only need one press; the Redding Ultramag press would indeed be suitable.

I have a buddy that owns two or three Barretts in 50 caliber, and went thru several presses before he finally bought one that was built for the 50 caliber browning round. He had trouble with the press comming loose from it's mounting on an wood bench. So I made him one from aluminum that bolted to the wood top. It didn't last. I then built him one out of steel with a steel washer plate on the bottom side of the bench top. That held. Must be a lot of pressure when full length sizing that case!

I personally think one would be best suited to own two pree setups here rather than one that in the end will me marginal on one group and overkill on the other. The Redding will probably do well with everything, but think it will be maxed out of the big cases.
gary

Thanks for all the replies everyone. Keep them coming.