best long range 7mm for 1200 yrds+?

supercrossbmx69

i am in the process of building a new 7mm for 1200+ yards (ive been debating what cartridge to go with for the last three months) and i am going to use the 180 burgers. i will be using a 26" broughton and i am looking to push the 180s at 3100. which cartridge would be best? i was going to do the 7 LRM (gunwerks cartridge) but i dont know anything about it. i am like everybody else that wants good barrel life, and accuracy. thanks for your time

the gunwerks cal is a 375 Ruger necked down to 7mm. For your purposes, I think it is a good choice, along with a 7 RUM.

Don't overlook the 7STW. It is easy to load for and you will get 3100 fps with 180's with a 26" barrel. My 24" barreled STW runs 3000 fps with 180 VLD's.

have you looked at the 7mm AM? Thats the .338 Lapua necked to 7mm and Improved. BuffalloBob has some pretty impressive kills on video with his. otherwise I would go to the STW... but then again I have only ever owned a 7mm Rem. Mag. and am in no way a 7mm expert.

7mm, 180grain VLD going 3100...
7RUM will get it done. You will get great accuracy and power, but your barrel life will suffer.

If I was in your shoes, which I was last year. I built the 7-338norma mag improved. There are some things you will want to consider when you start shooting out at 1mile and further(you will be there before you know it). Now I am no expert I am just passing on information I learned when myself and Nate planned and tested his 284 Jazz my new rifle. Top notch brass, and a standard magazine is what I was after. My Jazz is built off a Custom long action with 300win mag bottom metal.

Not much info is out yet since I am the only one with one and haven't had much time to test it out. With about 150rounds down the barrel we are using US869 at 97-98 grs. and getting 3200+fps with 180(bergers) and 189(Bob C.). ES of less than 10fps. This was nowhere near a max load. I was happy with the results and decided why push it harder.