best cartridge ??

gedsar

I have a model seven action in 308, whats the best cartridge for a bit of long range/ target and be able to handle the odd Sambar??. I am thinking of the 284win, anyone got anything better. Oh yeah I want to keep it fairly cheap, i.e. I'm a machinist so can do the barrel myself and don't want to have to get any outside machinig done, so will have to keep the 308 bolt face.

With a short action and the 308 bolt face the 284 is the biggest case you can get. I'm not familiar w/ the Sambar, but if you can take them w/ a lighter bullet, then ya might think about a 6.5-284. If you are able to get a bigger bolt face then get into the 7mm WSM or the 300 WSM would be a couple good choices. If they are as tough as Elk, think about the 338-300 WSM wildcat.

284 is really handicapped in the rem short actions. you have to seat the bullets too deeply to fit in the mag. Not sure if they have a Wyatts mag box for the model 7 that would allow you to seat the bullets out to take advantage of the 284 ballistics.

BH

if you're a machinist, it's time to learn how to open up a bolt face and chamber a 7saum.

please explain to us here in the states what a Sambar is. never heard of them.

if you're a machinist, it's time to learn how to open up a bolt face and chamber a 7saum.

please explain to us here in the states what a Sambar is. never heard of them.

Sambar (also sambur, sambhur, Tamil: Kadaththi man), is the common name for several large dark brown and maned Asian deer, particularly for the Indian species, which attains a height of 102 to 160 cm (40 to 63 in) at the shoulder and may weigh as much as 1200 pounds (546 kg). The coat is dark brown with chestnut marks on the rump and underparts. The large, rugged antlers are typically rusine, the brow tines being simple and the beams forked at the tip. In some specimens the antlers exceed 101 cm (40 in).