Base attachment questions.

gonehuntin

Hello, I'm a newbie and while I have read and learned a lot here, this is my first post. I know of only two companies that offer their bases with a angled hole and then have a corresponding angle on the head of the attachment screw. The theory being that this will enhance the ability of the base to resist moving once torqued down to the receiver. The theory makes intuitive sense to me, yet most manufacturers either don't offer this or don't advertise this. I have read how others may go to more drastic measures such as epoxy or pinning. An angled head and hole seems like a simple solution. Am I missing something? Are there others out there that offer this on their bases? Is it necessary or overkill? Thanks in advance.
gonehuntin

I use JB Weld.... just a THIN layer, like see through. USE the long setting, NOT quick set. Clean extra off with Acetone after you tighten screws. A Q-tip works great !!

This in essence, beds your bases to the action.

I have never had any problem doing this and had a Gunsmith show me how.... quite easy.

just my opinion and how I do my own stuff.

Several base makers use a "set" screw that kinda wedges the base in place and a couple make a base that has little extensions that fit down into the bolt opening. Is it realy needed ? most likly not like openg the base screw holes to 8-40 it probably doesen't do that much for saving the optics , if you drop you gun ahrd enout to shear off the base screws then the chances of the scope working are slim. I do open all my screw holes to 8-40 and I do bed all my bases to my reciever just in case.

[ QUOTE ]