barrel question. Could a ss barrel be too hard to ream????

oldfamily

Question is about the 257 stw that I am having built. MY smith has had one reamer break and the other twist trying to ream out the chamber. Both reamers were brand new one broke in half, and the other twisted. My question is could the barrel be too hard to ream. I called the barrel company and they are having the barrel returned to see if they can chamber it. I am in quality controll for a living and this crap has got me thinking of the quality of work that goes into this barrel. I know that this is the last barrel that I will purchase from this company. I have not put the name of the company because I am waiting to see if they make things right. I do know the reamer company asked what barrel that was being reamed and when they heard they acted like they had this problem before. I just wish to get this thing finished so I cam start putting some round down range. Oldfamily

Oldfamily,
In my opinion it would be the reamer that is at fault.
Brand new sharp reamers have been known to "dig in" whilst performing a full thickness cut. This can result in chatter in the chamber and sometimes broken reamers.

On the other hand hard spots in the steel can damage tooling. but this is usually more prominent in chrome-moly steels.

Ian.

"I meant to shoot the pike but the duck gt in the way"

I had a SS 50cal bbl from a prominent bbl maker and it was almost impossible to ream, it squeeled and squeeked, had all kinds of trouble with it. Sent the reamer back to the company to have it checked, they re-sharpened it and sent it back to me, still the same thing. Then i found the bbl had tight spots in the bore, i returned the bbl, they just lapped it and sent it back. The bbl never did shoot! Hence i never bought another bbl from this company.

Oldfamily,