Barrel or stock.....

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by petenz, Feb 13, 2009.

1. petenz

petenz Well-Known Member

Earlier this week I placed an order for a 6.5mm barrel to replace the .243 one on my Sako 75, I'm making it a 6.5x47 Lapua for a bit more long range performance:cool:

I'm a student so I don't have heaps of money, but I'll have enough left over after that to either:

1) get a mcmillan 'sako 75' stock to replace the factory sako synthetic (I love the shape of it, but it's not as stiff as it could be and it's a bit tatty from hard use)

or

2) rebarrel my remmy .223 with a proper twist rate (1:8) instead of the rubbish 1:12 it came with from factory

I can't decide which to do... help!!

Last edited: Feb 13, 2009
  2. Kevin Cram

Kevin Cram <b>SPONSOR</b>

I would get the stock and have your Sako be a complete custom. Do the Remington at a later date. One project at a time if your limited on funds.

3. mike33

mike33 Well-Known Member

Why do you say 223 , 12 twist is rubbish? I have a older model 78 sportsman with 12 twist with 50 grain hornady sp you would be a long time skinning all the deer i killed with it on 1 shot kills.
    Mike

4. petenz

petenz Well-Known Member

The factory barrel is rubbish. It shoots ok but it's got visible machining marks in the bore and fouls rapidly.

I want a 1:8 so I can shoot heavy bullets (either a locally made 69gr RBT HP with a bc of .4 ish or maybe the 75gr amax) for varmints/targets

5. mike33

mike33 Well-Known Member