barrel life shooting prairie dogs

dickshuford

I yall, this is my first post on this forum so if this is in the wrong place, excuse me.
For more years than I want to think about, I've wanted to hunt prairie dogs. So I am planning a trip to Wyoming in June. I am loading for a .223, 22-250, 243 and .270. On one of the Remington 700 243's I plan to install a new Shilen Match Barrel this week. A friend of mine told me that he shot out a 243 barrel with 1,200 rounds shooting dogs, several years ago.

Although I've been reloading and shooting since 1964, I never kept tabs on rounds shot, nor paid much attention to barrel life. Thinking back I always bought used 700 Varmint Specials so never knew how many rounds had been fired before. I realize that a lot has to do with how fast shots are fired, etc., but wanted to hear from folks that have had some experience shooting prairie dogs.

We don't have many in Louisiana.

If your going all the way from Louisana to WY for a p'dog shoot,enjoy yourself and dont let barrel life inhibit your shooting.If it must occupy your thoughts just try and keep them relatively cool and clean as often as you feel the need.When I first get to a dog town,I dont have much luck restraining myself for the fast and furious close shots,which your 223 would be good for,although the 22-250 or 243 is a little more spectacular.Specially if you have a buddy along and you get into a hang time contest.:D
Once the shots get a little farther out I'll usually settle down and concentrate on actual shooting rather than red mist and flying p'dog parts.I dont doubt your buddy at all,I have no doubt a person could fry a 243 barrel in a good dog town.

Last edited:
Thanks, Ballistics64

Yes, you're right, if I drive that far I'm not going to dwell on barrel life. Although I do not speak much French we have a saying in Louisiana "Laissez Les Bon Temps Roulez" which means "let the good times roll". I plan on doing that.