Barnes TTSX vs Berger VLD

Dalebow

Iam torn between the 180gr TTSX and the 185 berger for my elk hunt with my 300wsm. I have had nothing but good luck with the Barnes, but hear about all these bang flop dead with the berger, my concern is the barnes I can shoot on a raking shot and get where i need to, with the berger Ive read they can open up and not get where they need to on a raking shot or bad hit.........your thoughts?? Experiences???

It really depends on where you're going to hunt and how far you're going to shoot. I've been using the Bergers for the past 3 years on elk and I'm pretty happy with them. I haven't had too many bang-flops but I haven't had anything get away. The Bergers do work well but I hunt in pretty open country and the high BCs of the Bergers make 800 yard shots with a 7mm Rem or WSM more possible than with lower BC bullets. I haven't shot many Barnes bullets but at those ranges, my biggest fear would be a failure to expand. Not impossible with even the Bergers but I think more possible with harder bullets like the Barnes.

That being said, the majority of the elk I've killed have been in North Idaho in the thicker stuff. Places where 10 yard shots aren't uncommon and shots out beyond 100 yards were pretty uncommon. In that scenario, I might want a bullet that was going to give me maximum penetration. The Barnes might be the best for maximum penetration (arguably so at least).

So, if you're planning on taking 500 to 600 (or longer) shots on elk, the Bergers might be the way to go. If your shots are probably going to be 500 or closer, you might want to stick with the Barnes or some other harder (mono or bonded or partition style bullets). I'm sure that there are at least a few on here who use the Barnes for long range and like them. I believe that John Burns even used Barnes 7mm 150's for a while and I guess that he determined that they would get the job done at longer ranges.