ballistic coefficient and trigger adjustments?

jasonstewart

is adjusting the factory trigger difficult on a winchester model 70? this gun is new to me. i started shooting it at longer distances recently and have noticed that my trigger pull is really affecting my long range impact. at 500 yards i cannot get a tight pattern. at 400 im ok. 2" groups with three shots from a warm barrel. but i notice at 500 i cant really pattern at all. all bullets hit a 14" target, but its to irratic. also what bullet is best for the 300 win mag. as far as b.c. is concerned and long range energy/trajectory? thanks. jason

The trigger is very easy to work on. Just do a search and you should find a site with pictures to help you get through it. I cant remember the site I went to, but I was able to bring mine down to about 2lbs in about 10 min. All it takes is a real small set of wrenches, trigger pull gauge, and a little bit of common sense.

As for bullets for the 300 WM, depends on what you want to do with them. For hunting big game size of elk/bear, the 200g AB with a .588 BC is very very hard to beat.

For target shooting, the 190 VLD, 208 AMAX, or various 210g bullets are hard to beat, as is the 220g SMK.

Good luck!!

Where did you find the BC on the 200 accubond. I have some 208 Amax loaded for my 300 ultramag with a .648 BC and didn't realize the nosler was that high. Have you checked that out. If it is I am going to try it. That is the best BC I have heard of in a hunting bullet. Not that much of a trade off to get a well constructed hunting bullet.

Go to there website, its there...

There new book should have it in there as well...

It might not be exactly .588 as advertised, but its close enough...