B. S. Ballistic coeffceints

7MilMauser

Hi I am a newbie to this forum because the other guys could not help out. I shoot a 7 rem mag with a 160 gr nosler accubond with a bc of .531. What I found is this bc is not even close I got a bc of .39. Could this be true. are they just trying to sell bullets so they lie about it or is my figuring wrong. I used the seirra program and in order to be on target at 1000 yards in my environment this is where the bc has to be.

I would say your figuring is wrong. I have only used the 160 accubond out to 300 yds, but it is spot on. I haven't heard of anyone else having to use a BC that low. To check go to the JBM website and see if they have the 160 accubond listed if there is (Litz) after it this is one that Bryan Litz has accurately measured.
You might want to check your scope click values if you haven't already.
By that I mean clamp the gun/scope in a vice and see how much the reticle actually moves when you dial in 10 -20 MOA.
Can you post the data you used?

Stu.

I have shot them in a 7RUM and a 7 rem mag and the .531 is pretty close. I would check on your velocities first and them double check click value.

How did you check your velocity?

either your;

velocity
zero
scope tracking
distances
atmosphere

or part, (or all) of the above has errors.

velocity - try another chronograph alongside yours on the same day next time, compare the 2, if they are both the same, then its most likely ok.

zero - obvious, but the distance your scope is zeroed at must be accurate, ie exactly 100yds not 107yds for example... AND your impacts @ 1000yds is much more important, the center of your group @ 1000yds must be in the center of your aiming mark before you really know how much you needed to dial. if your groups are large, then the center of this group can be difficult to determine accurately at long range. Once you think you have it centered, use a fresh target and verify it again @ 1000yds with AT LEAST 5 shots assuming a dead calm day.