Awesome Groups but fliers?

Troutslayer

I am getting .5MOA with my .300 RUM. 200 gr. Accubond, 88 gr. H1000, But... In almost every five shot group I have shot, I am getting a flier, some as far away as 2" from the others at 100 yds. Sometimes I just want to quit while I'm ahead and shoot a three shot group when I know they are all in one ragged hole. What do I do? I am getting larger groups with more charge, but no fliers.

Sometimes, the second shot is the flier, sometimes the fifth shot is the flier so I don't know that it's related to heat.

What would you do?

Overall reloading has been fun and very rewarding and I am still learning, I just want to fine tune a little bit and I don't know what to do.

Thanks.

Is it always the 4th or 5th shot? If it is, maybe cooling is an issue. Are your velocities uniform?

could be you barrel is to hot, or it needs to be clean, or as simple as you heart beat, or try different powder...

Here are some things to check.

• Are you trimming your cases. Case length differences can have an effect
  • Are you de-burring your flash holes. Improper ignition caused by a primer hole burr could also have an effect.
  • How are you weighing your powder? Are you certain of accurate weights.
  • Do you put a crimp on your finished loads. A 'factor' crimp is usually a good idea and can create more consistent pressures.
That's all I can think of. Hope that helps.

What twist rate does you riffle have? Did it ever shot nice groups before (no fliers)?

When you get a flier mark that brass. After a while you should have enough brass that is grouping. Then shoot your group with good and see if you are still getting a flier. Case capacity may rearing it's head?

When you get a flier mark that brass. After a while you should have enough brass that is grouping. Then shoot your group with good and see if you are still getting a flier. Case capacity may rearing it's head?