Anyone have a load for the 26 nosler yet?

critrgitr

Has anyone come up with a load for the new 26 Nosler yet? I've got the brass, dies, and will have a custom rifle any day now. I would like to have a few light loads ready for my smith to test the rifle. I contacted nosler and got no help at all. I really hope their **** poor way of releasing this caliber won't affect its longevity. I am tempted to back down a 6.5 stw load to start, but am hesitant for obvious reasons. Thanks in advance for any advise on loads.gun)

What bullet are you wanting to use?

What are the obvious reasons you wouldn't use a 6.5 STW for reference?

Dear Critter Gitter:

I too am interested in what bullets you intend to use. The Nosler load will be with the 130 and 120 Longrange Accubonds as advertised. I have lots of experience with the two 6.5 WSMs and before that with two 264 Winchester Magnums. One of my WSMs is limited (9 inch twist) to the 130 ABs and 130 Berger VLDs. What twist did you get?

I would like to know how much water volume your cases will hold? How long does your chamber allow seating. What is the length of your magazine?

I think you can start with .264 Win Mag data from the threads here and add more powder as the pressure signs allow.

I will bet that VihtaVuori N-570 will be your go to powder for velocity and accuracy with 140 Bergers. Reloader 33 might be good too. Retumbo will be accurate and fast with the 120 and 130 gr bullets.

Ignore old data for the .264 that says that H870 is a wonderful powder. It never gave me anywhere near the advertised velocity and was not accurate. It was surplus from 20mm antiaircraft ammo.