ammo tips for newbies

skydiveblake

I'm a newbie. I know ammo makes a difference, and I also know that the experts tend to talk microns and place great importance on things that are quite simply beyond my range of knowledge and experience. Sometimes, I start to tune out good information when it gets too arcane.

I bought my new gear gear and, being on a budget, bought bulk ammo to sight in my rifle and break in the barrel. I figured that I would start shooting 'the good stuff' after I had the barrel broken in and the sighting 'roughed in' to the 200yd mark. (I know, I know! ...poor naive bastard...)

Some of you may have seen my posts about having trouble with my bipod, and asking if I should sight it in on the sandbags first, then put my pods on. I was shooting all over the place and wondering if it were the bipod, my scope or what. After shooting about 75 rounds of 150gr MagTech ammo (on sale for a great price!) I was about to sell my rifle or use it to shoot myself in the face and end the misery. I suspected it could be the ammo, but didn't think that ammo would be the cause of the crazy, random, 8 inch groupings I was getting at only 100 yards from a sandbagged, heavy-barreled, .308 fitted with a 10x42 scope.

As I was cleaning up, I commented to a couple of crusty old dudes near me that I was happy with one rifle and ready to throw the other down the hill. One old saint handed me 6 rounds of his match-grade 168gr boat-tails, pointed out one of his clean targets while another gentleman settled in behind the spotting scope, and directed me to blaze away.

I put four holes in the paper an inch apart, only 1 inch from center. They patted me on the head, told me I wasn't the lousy shot they thought I was, and told me to invest in decent ammo. Apparently, my rifle won't stabilize 150gr rounds at that loading, but those 168gr bullets were MONEY at his loading.