advice on which rifle to choose....

hittman86

sorry guys if i am posting in the wrong spot as this is my first post here. i am new to the long range world and am pondering which rifle/platform to go with. i have experience with the 700 and being left handed am kind of limited. my choices are the remington 700 sps varmint and having it put in a Whidden 140 stock or a savage left hand FLCP-K. i like the remington design but that is all i know the savage has the accutrigger and accustock so it is aluminum bedded from the factory. as far as glass a vortex viper 6.5-20x50 will reside on top. does anyone have any experience with either of these two setups? which ever i choose will primarily be a varmint/paper/steel shooter. 308 is the caliber i am going to go with.thanks in advance for any inputgun)

Welcome hittman86, sounds like you are on the right track. You won't go wrong with either of your choices. I would just like to add that if you are a person who likes to tinker, you might appreciate the Savage a bit more, but if you prefer to pay someone to do the work for you, the Remington might be what you want. If you do get hooked by the lrhb (long range hunting bug) you may just decide to upgrade more than you think. Good shooting!!!

so i finally decided on the savage flcp-k, glass will be a vortex viper 6.5-20x50 riding on a egw 20 MOA base anyone out there shoot anything like this setup?

quick question here if the scope i have has 68 moa of adjustment will that be enough to get a 100 yard zero with it sitting on a 20 moa base?

Your answer will depend on the ballistics of the caliber you are shooting. You might as well get started on the next phase of your learning curve. Go to this page on LRH and choose one of the ballistic software programs:

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f19/ballistics-programs-web-based-downloadable-9647/