adjusting for new altitude?

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by pretex, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. pretex

    pretex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Hi.

    I would like to know how to adjust for a new altitude.

    I got my data set for 1000 ft Its zero'd for 200 yards, i got all data I need.

    Then I go hunting at 3000 ft, I got all the data too for that altitude.

    Then heres my big question....

    How do I set it so I wont need to zero it at 200 yards at 3000ft altitude, to make sure it will get correct when i start to dail the elevation ?
     
  2. jmden

    jmden Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,725
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Either do it by shooting at that new altitude (1000' to 3000' is not enough to matter unless your shooting extremely long distance...as in probably a mile or more) or use a program like Exbal that will do this for you. The barometric pressure at your site in location and hunting location have much more to do with how that bullet will fly than altitude, but inputting the altitude can have a small difference if shooting long range with a significant altitude change. Short answer: get Exbal! Have fun!
     

  3. Ridge Runner

    Ridge Runner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    987
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    carry a barometer and exbal, if you know your bar pressure you can use "0" as your altitude.
    RR
     
  4. pretex

    pretex Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Thought that altitude counted for more :) Sounds like a great idea with the bar pressure, will make things easy'er.
    Here's the big thing now, what is best exbal or Night force?

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  5. Ridge Runner

    Ridge Runner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    987
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    as I understand it, they are the same.
    RR