Actions for LRH rifle

LopezLad

Between 8 years in the service and 8 years as a Federal LE officer I have done a bit of shooting. That said this long range stuff is new to me and has my attention. I am not a gunsmith nor claim to be. My question is with all of the LR rifles I am seeing out there they are built on Rem. 700 or custom actions for the most part, Savage seems to be getting a little bit of play time but Winchester and Ruger are never mentioned. I had a Ruger Mark II in .338 win. mag. that was the best shooting rifle I ever owned (never should have got rid of that). So is there some flaw in the Win. and Rugers actions that make them not liked in this area of shooting? This may be a dumb question but...if I don't ask I won't know. Any feedback is welcome, thanks.

Between 8 years in the service and 8 years as a Federal LE officer I have done a bit of shooting. That said this long range stuff is new to me and has my attention. I am not a gunsmith nor claim to be. My question is with all of the LR rifles I am seeing out there they are built on Rem. 700 or custom actions for the most part, Savage seems to be getting a little bit of play time but Winchester and Ruger are never mentioned. I had a Ruger Mark II in .338 win. mag. that was the best shooting rifle I ever owned (never should have got rid of that). So is there some flaw in the Win. and Rugers actions that make them not liked in this area of shooting? This may be a dumb question but...if I don't ask I won't know. Any feedback is welcome, thanks.

There is nothing wrong with the Winchester and the Ruger actions but there are likes and dislikes

The Ruger has the slanted recoil lug that can make them difficult to make them accurate and
unpredictable. There are some smiths that have figured them out and have good luck.

Some people don't like the fact that the Ruger actions are cast instead of forged.

Winchesters have had a lot of quality control problems and this has turned many against