7mm08 help

BuckyFan69

Picked up a Rem youth lightweight in 7mm08 with a 18in barrel. I have no experience with this round or a barrel that short. I got 6+ boxes of 120gn Fed Fussion with it so need to shoot that up for the brass. After that the plan was to start with H4895 and 140gn SGK. Any advice on how to get max performance from this little rifle would be greatly appreciated.

Picked up a Rem youth lightweight in 7mm08 with a 18in barrel. I have no experience with this round or a barrel that short. I got 6+ boxes of 120gn Fed Fussion with it so need to shoot that up for the brass. After that the plan was to start with H4895 and 140gn SGK. Any advice on how to get max performance from this little rifle would be greatly appreciated.

Metalhead, you do have a interesting dynamic with the 18 inch barrel, but with a fast burning powder, and a tough, but light bullet, that will be dynamite deer hunting package. First of all, with a parent case like the 308, accuracy will be easy to get.
I would suggest a 120 Barnes TTSX, and IMR 8208 powder. It difficult to speculate as to the speed, but maybe you could realize 2800-2900. Stick a whitetail in the ribs with that bullet, and he's going for a pick-up ride!! The H4895 is faster than the IMR 4895, but I believe that the 8208 is yet a little faster. With the Barnes bullet, at 120 grains, it PERFORMS as good as a 140 lead core bullet, but with a little more speed. Also, IMR 3031 is good for that bullet weight/ barrel length combo. Actually, the 3031, and 8208 are very close, but the 8208 is very consistent, and a great performer. Hope this helps, and good luck! The 7-08 is a great cartridge.