7mm stw and shepherd how they fit

elkhuntinguru

I've been shooting a 7mm rem. mag for a few years but i just purchased a sako 7mm stw and a shepherd scope i dont have the scope mounted yet or the round im gonna shoot figured out for sure but leaning on a 150 gr. jacketed silvertip with rx25 powder 82.0 max load book says 3304 mv with 24" barrel my gun has 26" barrel im new to reloading but have been shooting deer and elk long range with my rem. for years out to 600yrds will i be happy with this combo or do any of you gurus have a better setup you want to share my shepherd is a 6x16x40 V1A also will mv be greater or less with 2" barrel difference thanks in advance for your replies.

Why not try the 150gr nosler ballistic tip, with RL-22 this is a great setup for my Goodlin custom in 7STW.

You should pick up 100 to 150 fps. with the extra 2" barrel length, but the longer you make the barrel usually the less gain you get per inch if that makes sense to you. also, with the longer barrel, you may want to try some of the other slow powders out there. I don't personally have any experience with this round, but I have had good luck with retumbo. You want the slower powders with the longer barrels and heavy bullets so that the powder is still exerting force on the bullet when it leaves the barrel. Of course, not to slow that it's still burning when the bullet is long gone! Hope this helps.

2 more inches of barrel will get you around 50-60 fps. i'd say 100-150 is a little generous.

how about the 160 accubond? great, easy to load for bullet.

Definately not a fan of the Shepherd scope - way to crowded for my taste. I prefer working up loads, finding your drops out to whatever range you're planning on shooting at, and then having Premier Reticle or T.K. Lee & Co. install dots accordingly.

It's just my opinion, and I could be wrong (Nah) but a rangefinder is going to be alot more accurate for ranging than trying to fill a circle with an elk or a deer.

just me again