7mm Rem Mag

Courtgus

I am new to reloading and long range shooting but I am wanting to get a 7mm Rem Mag for long range hunting but I keep reading about the 7RM being "finiky".

Is the 7RM harder to load for than say the 300Win mag?

Thanks

Jamie

I have been reloading the 7mmRM for 15yrs, and the 300WM for 10yrs. Never had a problem with any of them. I have actually found good loads for the 7mm faster and easier than the 300WM, but thats just my guns.

I've been loading for my 7mag for 16yrs.What I've seen is,most of the published loads are well below the max.My rifles seem to shoot their best when loaded near max.Every rifle is different.Try different powders,bullets,seating depths,do the ladder test for your loads,watch for pressure signs and get a chrony if you don't have one,so you know where your at with your loads.Velocities you can expect:
with 140gr bullets-3150-3250fps
with 150gr bullets 3100-3200fps
with 160gr bullets 3000-3100fps
Some may get higher,depends,this will give you an idea about what to expect from your loads.
I usually load the lighter weight bullets,139-140gr in mine for primarily deer.I like:
65.0grs of IMR-4350
69.5grs of either Reloader-22 or Winchester WXR
Here's to good shooting for you.
7mag 3 shots 100yds on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Last edited:
I've owned many 7mm's over the years. I have found it very easy to load for.
I shoot mostly 140gr bullets, but I don't shoot near the ranges a lot do on the board.
68gr RL22 & a 140gr Nosler Accubond has shot well under an inch in over 1/2 a dozen 7mm's I have tried now.
Speed ranging from 3050 FPS in a 22" factory barrel all the way up to mid 3350 FPS in my 24" custom Ted Gaillard barrel with a 1-9 twist.
I have a 24" Krieger in 7mm coming in a couple weeks & hope to see similar #'s that I get with my Ted barrel.
3290 FPS is the fastest I have gotten with a factory 1-9.5 24" Sako barrel. It took 70gr RL22 to do that.