7mm rem. mag. Pressure ?'s

wnc-coyote

Ok guys. I have some questions about reading pressure signs in the belted mags. I have been reloading for many years. This is the first time reloading for a belted case. I have started working a load for the nosler 168gr ablr. , win brass, win mag primers and imr 7828ssc. I started at 62.0gr and worked to 64.0 in half gr. increments. The rifle is a ruger m77 mkii. Before I shot any hand loads I shot some win 150gr PowerPoint. My problem is every thing I shot flattened primers. I stopped at 64 because I didn't have mics with me at the rAnge. So when I got home I mics the belts and just above the belt. All were in Spec. Belts were .528-.530. Dia just above belt was .5128-.5134. So what I need to know is Should I just keep going till bolt lift started getting stiff or what else should I be looking for. Thank you

I personally use ejector stamp as the first sign of pressure. I find that primers are unreliable indicators of pressure.

I assume your cases were clean and dry, free of any residual sizing lube when you fired them. If so then I think ejector stamp would be the first thing to look for, and if you get stiff bolt that is for sure into pressure.

Yes, all brass was clean and dry, so was chamber. This is the first ruger I have had. I was concerned that the tiny little rectangular extractor slot might not be a reliable sign. Maybe it will be though.

I get 'flattened' primers when I shoot factory ammo as well as my hand loads in my 7 mm rem mag. With my M700, my first sign of pressure is usually a sticky bolt.

Hope this helps

Speed limits guys... Get it over a chrono. The 7rem has been backed off a bit pressure wise since there are a lot of variances out there in chambers.... Get her to the speed she should be at without any extractor marks or ANY noticeably heavy bolt lift and you should be good to go. The 7rem isn't as fast as the 7stw or 7rum but she'll still get the job done well way out there with careful feeding.