6.8SPC will not chamber round all the way

Discussion in 'AR15/10 Rifles' started by Sharpshooter243, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. Sharpshooter243

    Sharpshooter243 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    I've got some reloads that will not feed all the way and sometimes i can't pull the charging handle to extract the round. Am I just not sizing the brass all the way? I have other rounds that will chamber(purchased from a fellow shooter for the brass) but my reloads won't chamber
     
  2. Kevin Thomas

    Kevin Thomas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,256
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Most likely the problem, right there. Full length sizing is a must for these guns, and the use of a gage is very strongly advised. They solve a lot of problems, and even better, can keep you from running into them in the first place.
     

  3. Sharpshooter243

    Sharpshooter243 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    I use a set of RCBS small base dies. I'll readjust the die and see what happens tonight. I reloaded for my 5.56 and had no problems so this is new to me
     
  4. Kevin Thomas

    Kevin Thomas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,256
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Pick up an L.E. Wilson case gage, and that'll help to ensure you've got the dies set down correctly. Bump gage would work too, you're just trying to make sure you've got the round sized enough to give it just a little play in the chamber. Tight fitting brass and close tolerances don't fly with these guns.
     
  5. Sharpshooter243

    Sharpshooter243 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    I don't know if this makes a difference or not but I can manually put a round in the chamber and it locks up fine. It only acts up when I use a magazine
     
  6. ICANHITHIMMAN

    ICANHITHIMMAN Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,380
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Are you using 6.8 mags of 5.56?
     
  7. Sharpshooter243

    Sharpshooter243 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    I'm using c-products 25rd 6.8 mags
     
  8. Sharpshooter243

    Sharpshooter243 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    337
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Talked to Ben at Bison Armory and it's a headspace issue. I'm going to send the barrel and bolt to him
     
  9. BigSkyGP

    BigSkyGP Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    332
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    My 24" 6.8 AR had trouble with reloads, when I used brass that was shot in my Mini-14 6.8. I now have SSA brass for the ARs and use Hornady for the Mini, problem solved. It was also a powder issue, and switched powders.