6.5-284 Shehane info request

jdokie

I am a new member to this web sight and forum, but it sure looks like I am at the right place! I am sure this has been asked and answered many times, but bear with me please as I am new to this end of the shooting sports. My question is, can anyone tell me about the 6.5-284 Shehane? I am planning a "multi-purpose" rifle, and can get use of a reamer (free from my father-in-law). I already have a Rem. 700 long ('06)action, and have ordered a McMillan stock (HGP). The barrel I am considering is a Hart 26" with a 1 in 9 twist. I want to be able to shoot 140 gr. bullets at deer sized game, but would like to do some varmints in with ligher bullet. Will this twist rate work(if so for what gr. range), or should I go with something else? Also, what about the Shehane modification, how is the temperment of the round (ie. accuracy, velocity, case life, barrel life, etc.)? Any information will be greatfully appreciated!

Couple things to consider.

go to benchrestcentral and ask about the shehane 284. Bill Shehane is always on there. I think you will find it is an improved 6.5-284 of his design. Look at the entry page onto BR central, look under cleaning supplies and then click on DB supply, that is Bills company. You can email him direct. He can give the most accurate info this case of anyone.

With only a 26" barrel you are not going to be able to really utilize the extra powder capacity of the improved 284. Why limit it to 26"? Most reamers made for this are probably going to be tight neck which requires neck turning. If this is strictly hunting gun do you want this? What is neck on reamer, .290? That is common size for tight neck 6.5s.

In the 6.5's shooting 140-147 gr bullets you really need the 1-8 twist, which would be your best deer hunting weights. Go to Dan Liljas website and he has a chart on bullet weights and twists and see what he recommends. Think you will find that it is right on.