6.5-284 brass?

crittrgittr

I am thinking about getting a 6.5 x 2 84. I was wondering about the availability and price of the brass. Just wondering if I can take .284 brass and size it down to the 6.5? Or do I have to buy 6.5 x 2 84 brass? If so who all makes the 6.5 x 2 84 brass? And what is the price compared to the .284? Or should I go .260?( not preffered). Sorry if this is a repeat but I'm somewhat new to the reloading forum( not reloading)

Simply run 284 brass through a 6.5x284 die.

At Midway Nosler, Lapua, Norma and Hornady all have 6.5x284 brass. $55/50 and up. Win is only 284 brass available at $35/50.

260 Brass is cheaper and more readily available. You can also neck 308/7mm-08 down and 243 up to make 260.

My advise is get what you want otherwise you'll probably regret it in the future.

They were all pretty easy to get 2 months ago. Good luck Getty any of the now. Perhaps a hoarder will trade you 100 for an AR or something. Sorry, that's out of line. Just frustrated

Very frustrating. I cant imagine he stockpile some ppl must have. Luckily I have enough to get me through to deer season, (hopefully). After then maybe things will have settled down a little

shootnmathews,
I hear ya. I've been trying to get an ar also. Crazy price gauging on what is for sale out there. Thanx for the help on the brass. Sounds like 284 brass through the die should work.

I am thinking about getting a 6.5 x 2 84. I was wondering about the availability and price of the brass. Just wondering if I can take .284 brass and size it down to the 6.5? Or do I have to buy 6.5 x 2 84 brass? If so who all makes the 6.5 x 2 84 brass? And what is the price compared to the .284? Or should I go .260?( not preffered). Sorry if this is a repeat but I'm somewhat new to the reloading forum( not reloading)