6.5-284 Ball powder?

Weezer

Does anyone run ball powder in the 6.5-284, I have read that it's more temp sensitive than stick. I'm wondering if it's worth the trouble to run ladder test on it. I got a lot of it (20+lbs) and it's supposed to be cooler burn in the neck. Thanks for any light you can shed on it. Weezer

Weezer,

I shoot ball powder exclusively in a 270 Allen Mag (since I think I've notices that stick powders are more abrasive than ball powder) I only used stick powder (ssc) for light bullets (130-150 class) as my first attempts w/normal sized stick powder caused bridging at the neck. Pressure when sky high with RL-25 and the like.

Using US-869 there appears to be some temperature sensitivity but my work arounds include not shooting @ temps above 65*F if loads are not chilled, carry loads in an ice bath in the summer and in a warm pocket when hunting.

I don't think US-869 is nearly as temp. sensitive as RL-22. I have no experience with other ball powders.

Note, I do my long range hunting mostly from a 'hide' thus cartridges are not chambered until there is a shot.

For walk and stock I've considered a summer load and a winter load but I'm skeer'd of confusing them.:rolleyes:

Thanks Roy, I read that ball powder was invented for military because it burned cooler and barrels lasted longer due to that. I'll run some test loads in 1/2 grain jumps and see what I get and with temp variations running 30 to 35 degrees now should give me an idea. Weezer

I have no experience with ball powders but plan to try the new LR4000 from Alliant. It claims better velocities than other ball powders and the burn rate should be good for the 6.5-284.

I use Ramshot Magnum in my 6-284 and am
having good results

Not sure about temp sensitivity since Ive only
been shooting I warm Fl temps

To follow up.
I've been shooting the 6-284 with 107smk's and Ramshot Magnum. Getting 3400fps very comfortably from a 28" shilen barrel on a savage target action.