338EDGE Brass PROBLEM!!!!!

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by 300rum, Dec 23, 2007.

  1. 300rum

    300rum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    MARRY CHRISTMAS, to all of you...

    Ok I need your help guys...
    I need help to fix this problem.
    I just start to reload for 338edge a brand new brass NOSLER(300rum) with RCBC 338EDGE FL die.

    After lubricate the case with oil, and using FL die, I got small residue as powder on neck area of the brass.

    If I run the same round on FL DIE again EVERY TIME I GOT RINGS OF RESIGUE AS IN PHOTO.

    Please advise what I did wrong!!!!

    See photo bellow... (small pawder residue is from 1st run, and the rings ar from every time when I run the same case on FL Die.)

    [​IMG]

    Thank you
    Chris
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
  2. AJ Peacock

    AJ Peacock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Are you using 300RUM brass or 375RUM brass?

    AJ
     

  3. 300rum

    300rum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    I'm using 300rum brass
     
  4. Bigcat_hunter

    Bigcat_hunter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    426
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Is that residue brass from the shell?
     
  5. jmden

    jmden Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,725
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
     
  6. Ballistic64

    Ballistic64 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    669
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Im just guessing,but the oil your using might not be lubing well enough.I'd chamfer the the inside and outside of the case mouth slightly and try lubing with Imperial Size Die Wax.
     
  7. AJ Peacock

    AJ Peacock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Are you lubing the inside of the neck? The best lube I've found is the imperial sizing wax as well.

    AJ
     
  8. 300rum

    300rum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    OK Guys...
    I recorder the process...
    Here is the movie.


    Sorry for my english..

    So... all the residue are from the outside neck brass.
    After I remove the brass from DIE, it comes out with all this rings residues, around the neck case.

    Here is the short movie of the FL resizing process.
    As you can see after FL resizing around the outside case neck are lots of small case residue, and If I will resize again I will get rings of residues on outside case neck.

    What I did wrong?? As you can see I need lots of power to necked up from 300rum case to 338 EDGE, when I used the press.

    Video of error - Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

    Chris
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
  9. shorty

    shorty Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    272
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    I picked up some Imperial dry lube just last week, have not had the chance to try it yet tho. Appears to be graphite based but am only guessing about that. Might help.
     
  10. AJ Peacock

    AJ Peacock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    I liked your video.

    I always chamfer the necks of brass I am necking up, so it slips over the sizing button easier.

    For necking up, I usually resize the neck first in a neck expander die.

    Question, how low in the die is your sizing button? All you need to do to use 300RUM brass in a 338EDGE is to run it over your sizing button, you don't need to go all the way up, you are just working the brass 2 additional times if you do that.

    AJ
     
  11. 300rum

    300rum Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    564
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    All the way up...
    As you see in the movie, I feel 2 very stiff position:
    1 when the button is almost up
    2nd time when the button in almost down

    To complicat on FL, and to many steps.
    How about if I go just NS?
    What I have to do? Is more easely to necked up 300rum case to 338edge case?
    What are your experiences with NS dies?

    Do somebody have the starting load for US 869 powder with 300gr SMK for 338edge?
    And also for Retumbo powder.
    From this 2 which one is less temperature sensitive, and give you more energy fro 338edge?

    UFFFffffff.. To much staff to assimilate when you are changing the caliber. I just got yesterday form gunsmith my new 338Edge rifle, and I need to fix all this problems, before jumping in reloading for 338edge.

    Thank you
    Chris
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
  12. AJ Peacock

    AJ Peacock Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    If you adjust your sizing button down and then only run the brass over the button and NOT all the way up into your die, you will be good for your first reload.

    All that is required to turn new 300RUM brass into 338Edge brass is going over the sizing button.

    AJ
     
  13. jmden

    jmden Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,725
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Thanks for the video. Sure haven't seen that before.

    -Is your die clean and cleaned regularly? It's almost as if something is in the die that shouldn't be that's perhaps causing the problem.

    -As AJ said, are you chamfering the case mouth so that the sizer button can more easily slip over it when the case is going up into the FL die?

    -For that operation (neck expanding), I would also reccomend Imperial Sizing Die Wax (Redding owns them now, I think.). For FL sizing I haven't found anything that works better and is easier to apply and removes easier than Hornaday One Shot Case Lube.

    Good luck. Wish I could give a clear-cut answer.
     
  14. davewilson

    davewilson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    i wouldn't call that residue, i'd call it brass shavings. looks more like a sharp edge cutting small pieces of brass to me.

    i use a 30 cal sizing mandrel first, and then push them out to 338 cal. then i run them through the FL die.