338-8mm Rem Mag

I have no experience with one but if you are looking for performance info the 340 weatherby should be really close.

Has been done quite a bit since the late 70's. What you get is a 340 wby with cheap remington brass. It is a very good cartridge well capable of 1000 yard hunting. It shoots on average about 100-150 fps slower than the 338-300 ultramag or edge, 338 RUM and 338 Lapua.

So one would be ahead to just get a 338 rum, lapua, or edge? which of these three mentioned would you get and why?

So one would be ahead to just get a 338 rum, lapua, or edge? which of these three mentioned would you get and why?

How much do you want to pay for brass? They all shoot relatively the same. Lapua gives you the best brass. The Edge is proving quite deadly and relatively the same price as a rum or lapua. So its a toss up.

Tank

Which would be the fastest in order? And what would the velocity difference be? I know that not all decisions need to be based on speed, However it is nice to know. If you were doing a new build of these three calibers which would you choose and why?

Since the ultramag case came out the 338-8mm rem mag and 340 wby are not as popular. If you have a donor standard magnum action then do the ultramag case. If you are doing a custom action then there are many more choices. I have both the 338-300 ultramag and the 338 RUM. I hunt often with my 338 RUM and the two 338-300 ultras have pretty much sat in the rack for ten years. Performance is the same and either will do anything the other will do. But I can buy dies, brass, etc over the counter cheap for my 338 RUM. No necking up and fireforming brass so the 338 RUM always went hunting since it was much easier to load for.