.308 max killing range

parlaan

Just moved in from Melbourne, Australia, now in Da
For these animals what in your opinion is the max kill range with the best of the best stuff for .308.

1. Texas Whitetail Deer

2. Coyote

3. Wolf

4. Medium sized hogs

5. Rams

6. North American Whitetail

7. Prong Horn

8. Elk

9. Caribu

10. Smaller Moose

This is with the best ammo the best rifle the best scope and in a steady position. No answers like it can't kill it, if it can't kill a smaller moose, put 30 yards then and so on and so forth. Thank you all very much I just need to know the answer to this.

1. Texas Whitetail Deer

~ 900 yards

2. Coyote

~ 600 yards

3. Wolf

~ 600 yards

4. Medium sized hogs

~ 600 yards

5. Rams

~ 600 yards (I have zero experience with these critters.)

~ 900 yards

7. Prong Horn

~ 900 yards

8. Elk

~ 600 yards

9. Caribu

~ 900 yards

10. Smaller Moose

~ 500 yards

For deer and caribou I believe that if I can poke through their chest it'll kill them, I have killed a lot of deer. From my experience and from the tales of other I feel caribou die fairly easily... I've even heard that a stale doughnut might kill one. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

For predators and critters of smaller size I don't believe the bullet will open up too well way out. I feel a need to stay inside the range where the bullet will expand quickly and cause some significant damage before exiting.

The hogs I''ve killed lead me to believe they kill sort of hard.

For large critters I feel the need to ensure the bullet can penetrate the full width (broadside shot) of the chest with an expanded bullet and therefore a closer distance.

Presented for what it's worth.. your mileage may vary.

[ QUOTE ]
I would not have thought a moose would be killed at 500 yards with a .308.

[/ QUOTE ]

Why not?

I'll change my maximum killing distances a bit to help you out, the original distances seem to have caused some stress..

1. Texas Whitetail Deer

~ 300 yards