300wsm + 208gr= dead P-dog

dk17hmr

I shot this one at 189 yards (cold bore) with my 300 WSM and a 208gr A-Max at 2635fps. I still havent worked out my MOA yet so when it stood up I put the cross hairs just under his chin.

Bulletmolds063.jpg

My 204 Ruger blows them up and spreads parts everywhere, the WSM made parts disappear. There was about a 2" wound channel and what was there must be in the next county because it wasnt anywhere around it.

First blood for the 300 WSM.

Sweet rig and good shooting. I use the same combo on my g-hog rifle. I am getting 2913 avg. with 61.5grns H4350. What is your load and why the low speed? You just not wanting to push it? What are your ES and SD?

Tank

I am still learning all the small details of LR hunting and shooting. I have been shooting long range for a while but obviously didnt know anything until I started reading on this site. ES? SD?

I am using 64gr of H4831SC with Remingotn 9 1/2 primers in RP cases, seated just off that lands. I have an 8 pounder of this powder that is when I am using it. I might have to give other powders a try for more speed, but I am be getting a 300 RUM next week in trade so I might just use that for speed. Because the load I am flinging out of the WSM right now goes into tight groups.

I am still learning all the small details of LR hunting and shooting. I have been shooting long range for a while but obviously didnt know anything until I started reading on this site. ES? SD?

I am using 64gr of H4831SC with Remingotn 9 1/2 primers in RP cases, seated just off that lands. I have an 8 pounder of this powder that is when I am using it. I might have to give other powders a try for more speed, but I am be getting a 300 RUM next week in trade so I might just use that for speed. Because the load I am flinging out of the WSM right now goes into tight groups.