.300wm factory seating question

Rem700addict

Well I just got back from a dissapointing day at the farm shooting. I was seeking to gather some load info from some reloads that I made up and instead became more baffeled. I'm shooing a .300wm Rem 700 sps with Boyd's stock, 20 moa rail, weaver rings and 6x18 Buckmaster scope with adjustable turrets. Right now my load consists of Rem brass, Winchester LRM primers, H1000 powder, and Hornady 180grn BTSP Interlock bullets. Try not to be to harsh on me but i'm new to reloading, i've been sizing my cases with Lee dies, most of my cases have been shot twice so I try not to full length size them, they fit the chamber real well, no sticking or any other problems. That being said, I made up a dummy round and chambered it then took my calipers and measured the overall COAL and came up with 3.46, I then made up some rounds in .5grn increments from 72grns-79grns and seated the bullet to a COAL of 3.39, I know it was deep and i'm not sure why I tried that number, but I took these to the range and did the latter test at 100yrds and found my powder node at 76.5-77.5grns. So I went home and loaded up some rounds in .2grn increments in that node range, but I changed my COAL to 3.50 thinking that i've read most people seat them out as far as possible. Well I went to the range and shot today backing it up to 200yrds instead of 100 and I do know my shooting overall today was poor as far as form and such, but my bullets were going everywhere, I was rather imbarrassed at my shooting. With all that said, I know I wasn't on my A game at shooting today, but I know I shot better then the results, I meant it looked like a shotgun pattern, could it be that the bullet being seated that far out was one of the causes? What do you guys usually seat the bullets at in your factory .300wm's? I definitley have a lot of practice to do, but I also took my .243win and warmed up with it first and was shooting under and inch at 200yrds with that gun, so i'm n