300 rum

mmmbucks

I'm brand new at reloading, a friend of mine convinced me to try it he's been bugging me that my new gun(300rum) is a baby gun compared to his 300 weatherby but anyway that's a different story! what I was wondering I'm looking for what works the best for this gun? What kind of powder?lead?and what load? thank you any help would be great!
P.S. I guess while I'm asking what is the differences between the 300 rum and the 300 weatherby?
confused.gif

180gr Ballistic Tip over 92 to 96gr of RL25.With a Fed 215M primer.....And your buddy has it turned around.The RUM is at least 200fps faster than the WBY with the same bullet weight...

The 300's there are about the same, the faster one is the Ultra though, so he is essentially wrong. The Ultra lacks the belt, has more case capacity and offers 100-200 fps more speed for a given bullet weight than the Wby.

I'm using RL22 and RL25 both with great results in my 300 Ultra. I'm getting about 3250 fps with RL22, and 3300 fps with RL25 using 180gr bullets. Accuracy is great just below max load with both. Best bullets in mine were 178 A-Max, 180 Scirocco, 180 Ballistic Silvertip so far.

Start with about 88-90gr with RL25, 96gr was max.
Start with about 80-82gr with RL22, 88gr was max.

I've had good luck with a max load of 86gr of RL25 using the 220gr SIerra Match King too.

All these loads were tested with longer overall lengths, and your max loads may be a grain or two less if seating bullets deeper to fit in the magazine, mine were single fed to touch the lands.

Good luck and have fun reloading for it, it will be very rewarding, and give you lots more ammo to shoot for your hard earned cash spent on it.

If you have not educated yourself about the reloading process, which is fairly simple once you get the hang of it, BE SAFE for starters, and the rest of your life doing it.

There are some things that can kill the most edjucated reloader if he isn't carefull all the time while one's loading.